Balvenie Caribbean Cask 14 Year Old – Review

Balvenie 5

Jack wakes up in a haze. The horizon before him is ablaze. The scenery is full of palm trees being engulfed in flames as the smoke rises higher and higher in the sky as each second passes. Jack stumbles to his feet and begins to wobble over to where Elizabeth is loading barrel after barrel onto a large bonfire.

“No! Not good! Stop! Not good! What are you doing? You burned all the food, the shade… the rum!” he calls out to her in bewilderment as she walks by him forcing him to turn around and follow her.

“Yes, the rum is gone.”

“Why is the rum gone?”

Elizabeth turns around and aggressively addresses Jack’s question. Jack leans back and takes it all in. The smoke drifts across the shoreline.

“One: because it is a vile drink that turns even the most respectable men into complete scoundrels. Two: that signal is over a thousand feet high. The entire royal navy is out looking for me, do you think there is even the slightest chance they won’t see it?”

Jack is still confused.

“But why is the rum gone?”

This is one of my favorite scenes from the movie, Pirates of the Caribbean: Curse of the Black Pearl. Like any good tippler, Jack is more concerned about why the rum is gone than about being rescued.

In the case presented to us today, unlike Jack, I’m not worried why all of the rum is gone. In fact, I’m happy all the rum is gone because before us lies a Scotch which has been finished in used Caribbean Rum Casks after spending 14 years in traditional oak casks. Let’s see if it is worth all of the rum being gone.


BALVENIE CARIBBEAN CASK 14 YEAR OLD SINGLE MALT SCOTCH WHISKEY

Distiller: Balvenie

Owner: William Grant & Sons

Location: Dufftown, Scotland (Speyside)

Age: 14 Years Old (Undisclosed Amount of Time in Caribbean Rum Casks)

ABV: 43%

Mash Bill: 100% Malted Barley (Single Malt)

Price: $60-70*

EYE

Light honey with a caramel hue. It is lighter than the previous 2 Balvenies I reviewed. I don’t mind though because all-too-often Scotch whiskies have artificial coloring.

NOSE

The nose is fairly straight forward. I get tons of honey and vanilla. Alongside these notes malt and cinnamon creep in. It is a good nose but nothing complex.

TASTE

Right away on the palate I notice the rum influence with the appearance of rum spice. Along with this I pick up hints of honey, vanilla, caramel, and toffee. Cinnamon and a slight it of malt find their way into the mix at the end.

FINISH

Medium. Slight oak and char at first with a bit of the rum spices. Cinnamon, honey, and vanilla carry on until the end.

VALUE

The value is hard to judge. I would totally buy another tasting set, but would I buy a full bottle? Maybe. I like it the least out of the three samples and unless I could find it at or below $50 I would pass. There are too many other drams I would rather have a full bottle of at or below that price point. But, that is my opinion. You really need to determine value for yourself.

CONSENSUS

I like this Scotch. However, I’m not blown away. I think I need to explore some of the much older Balvenies. If there is a tipple produced by Balvenie you absolutely love and I have not reviewed it yet, let me know in the comments section and I’ll check it out and let you know what I think. As always, thanks for following and…Cheers!

RATING

84/100 (A Solid Tipple)

Balvenie 6

*Disclaimer: I bought a sample bottle of this tipple for my review. I have not been paid by Balvenie for this review and all opinions and comments are 100% my own. Your experience may vary if you purchase a full size bottle of this fine dram. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

