Balvenie DoubleWood 12 Year – Review

Balvenie 1

I’ve mentioned it before but I’ll mention it again, I’m primarily a bourbon and rye drinker. While I do like Scotch it’s usually too costly for me (I can get 2-3 nice bottles of bourbon or rye for the price of one nice Scotch) to buy more than one bottle at a time. Plus, when I do drink Scotch I like the smoky ones so I usually stick with 2-3 specific bottles.

However, when Christmas rolled around this year I decided to do some branching out into the world of Scotch. While I didn’t buy any full bottles I ran across a nice tasting set from Balvenie. I remembered having the beauty pictured above a few years ago at a friend’s house and liking it. So, I decided to drop a few bucks on the set.

While I could go into detail about Balvenie, their history, their drams, etc., in this instance I will leave that to the hard work already done by a few of my favorite bloggers: The Whiskey Wash and Angel’s Portion. Go ahead and check out the links. I’ll wait right here…

Now that your back, let’s move on to this honey vanilla delight.


 

BALVENIE DOUBLEWOOD 12 YEAR OLD SINGLE MALT SCOTCH WHISKEY

Distiller: Balvenie

Owner: William Grant & Sons

Location: Dufftown, Scotland (Speyside)

Age: 12  Years Old

ABV: 43%

Mash Bill: 100% Malted Barley (Single Malt)

Price: $45-50*

EYE

Light caramel with and amber hue.

NOSE

Fruit right up-front. I get pears, apples, and what seems to me to smell like unripe pineapple. These notes are quickly followed by malt, cocoa powder, and honeyed-vanilla. Overall it reminds me of some dessert wines I’ve had in the past. Really soft, pleasant, and inviting. A good start.

TASTE

The palate follows the nose with some additions. Honey and malt at first. Followed by pears, caramel, vanilla, and a bit of oak. Easy drinking and perfect for a lazy afternoon.

FINISH

It has a long finish with notes of malt, oak, char, and honey. It has a slow-warming character which makes me feel loved by this dram.

VALUE

The value is hard to judge. I would totally buy another tasting set, but would I buy a full bottle? If I can find it for low-end of the market at $40-50 I will buy it. However, if all I can do is find it at $50+ (which is likely in my market) then I would have to pass.

CONSENSUS

I like this Scotch. It is a great introductory tipple which lets you know the level at which Balvenie starts “playing ball.” While I would buy it at the low-end of market I would probably pass on this one most days and go for one of Balvenie’s older and more complex offerings. Cheers!

RATING

85.5/100 (A Solid Tipple)

Balvenie 2

*Disclaimer: I bought a sample bottle of this tipple for my review. I have not been paid by Balvenie for this review and all opinions and comments are 100% my own. Your experience may vary if you purchase a full size bottle of this fine dram. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

