T&T Favorite Whiskeys – 2015 Edition

Whiskey awards are stupid. By stupid, I mean extremely subjective while lacking concrete meaning or a legitimate purpose. Jim Murray awarding Crown Royal Northern Harvest his Whiskey of the Year is both subjectively and objectively stupid. But, that is not the point of this article.

While I could give an award for whiskey of the year in various categories for various reasons I just don’t find the point. But, I do feel the need to pull together my top whiskeys of 2015 in both the Rye and Bourbon categories (those with which I’ve had the most experience). But, I want to make it as objectively subjective as possible.

So, I am calling this post: T&T Favorite Whiskeys – 2015 Edition. Do I think these are the best Rye Whiskeys and Bourbons of 2015? No. They are just my favorite. Would you even like them? Maybe. Maybe not. That is for you to decide. What I am providing is a list of my favorites and a charge: try them for yourself and decide whether you like them or not.

With that being said, here is my list of favorite rye whiskeys and bourbons for 2015. There are 6 total whiskeys. They are in no particular order. I really liked and recommend them all. Cheers!

BOY2015-2

Russell’s Reserve Single Barrel Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey: Full-bodied, spice-driven, rich and creamy.

Elijah Craig Barrel Proof Release #8: Oak-heavy, rich in dark sweets, in-your-face.

Willett Family Estate 2 YO Small Batch Straight Rye Whiskey: Young and spunky, sweet-heavy, slightly spicy, promising future.

BOY2015-3

Colonel E.H. Taylor Barrel Proof Kentucky Straight Rye Whiskey: Baker’s paradise, perfect bite, sweets and spice in balance.

F.E.W. Rye Whiskey: Young and spirited. Spice-driven. Most unique dram of the year.

Stagg Jr. Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey: Cinnamon spice and everything nice. Cocoa and oak. Rich, hot, and in-your-face.

Leave a Reply

