Poetry Friday – Weller’s Ode To Her Older Siblings

W.L. Weller Special Reserve has always been told she is not “good enough,” “you’ll never be like your older sisters.”

She is asked over and over again, “why can’t you be spicier like Antique?” “Why can’t you learn to be more refined like Weller 12?”

Weller 1

Recently, she was sitting in her room and decided to pen a poem to capture her feelings on the subject. This is what she wrote:

“I am sorry I am not good enough,
I’m sorry I’m not you;
But, the person who I am, is not up to you to choose.

“I am sorry I am not smart enough
Nor, superior
and fit too,
I am sorry I am not good enough,
Im sorry I’m not you.

“You seem to only see my flaws,
in everything that I do.
I can only  wish and dream
for you to see my accomplishments too.

“I am sorry I am not good enough,
I’m sorry I’m not you;
But, the person who I am, is not up to you to choose

“I’m sorry that I’m “just like her”,
I’m sorry I’m not better,
I apologize for my mistakes,
but this girl who I am, you have never met her.

“But, most of all I’m sorry,
that you can’t appreciate me for me
And I’m really sorry who I truly am,
is someone you cannot see.

“I am sorry I am not good enough,
I’m sorry I’m not you;
But, the person who I am, is not up to you to choose.

*Actual poem written by Sarah-Michelle Gregory*

Leave a Reply

