Four Roses Single Barrel Private Selection (OESF) – Review

FR 4

On Wednesday I shared about my love for Four Roses and the details of the Four Roses Single Barrel Private Selection Project. So, if you want the skinny on it you can check out all the details here and here.

This selection is brought to us by my good friends over at  Liquor Locker in Evansville, Indiana. They usually have a few private selection bottles on hand. I picked this one up a few months ago. This is an OESF mashbill. It was aged for 11 years and 8 months in Warehouse H on the Western side, on rack #47, in the 2nd row in barrel I (9th back). I love that Four Roses is completely transparent about their operation. But, what really matters now is how this one tastes.


FOUR ROSES SINGLE BARREL PRIVATE SELECTION

Distiller: Four Roses

Owner: Kirin

Age: 11 Years & 8 Months

ABV: 57.8%

Mashbill: 75/20/5 (Corn/Rye/Barley) & F Yeast (tends to be herbal and earthy)

Price: $55

EYE

Dark amber. It is bordering on a medium brown. It almost reminds me of a watered down blonde coffee. This one has had a lot of contact with the barrel.

NOSE

It is spicy and herbal. Notes of earth. Cinnamon, nutmeg, and all-spice. I also get a good bit of oak which is to be expected with the age and the color. As it develops and opens up, I get dark fruits and stone fruits. Plums, figs, and apricots. Some caramel mixes in. While there is a lot there all the notes are a bit muted. I tend to find the noses on these Private Selections to be the only real letdown.

TASTE

Loads of sweets, spice, and oak. The dark fruits show up again. There is an entire spice cabinet in there. Semi-dry oak. All of the notes are balanced really well.

FINISH

The finish is very long. Mint, herbs, and dark fruits. It is an awesome finish. My favorite part of the experience.

VALUE

In my opinion, across the board all the Four Roses’ products have a great value. It is no different here. For $55 you are getting a well-balanced, full-flavored, decade (plus) old bourbon.

CONSENSUS

I really, really, really like this bourbon. I would highly recommend it if you get the chance to visit or if you live in Evansville. It really only loses points in the fact that the notes were quite soft on the nose and it could have a little more developed sweetness (caramel and vanilla) for my liking. Still, this could be an everyday sipper if it wasn’t going to disappear (if it already hasn’t).

RATING

93.5/100 (An Excellent Tipple)

FR 3

Leave a Reply

