Fighting Cock Bourbon – Review

20150812_200040

I was in Southern Illinois a few months back. I was staying at my in-laws’ cabin. I wanted to pick up a bourbon that I could mix into some tasty cocktails. I wanted something high-octane and something I had not tried in the past. My eyes looked up and down the row of bourbons. I went back-and-forth between a few options. I settled on Fighting Cock. I heard mixed reviews and I was ready for a little bourbon and controversy so I grabbed the bottle, paid the gentleman behind the counter, and headed to the lake.

When I opened the bottle, I did as I usually do and tasted it neat. I was greeted with a hoof to the mouth from this bucking bronco. The ethanol was intense and the spice was massive. I didn’t hate it, but it was a little much. I made cocktails the rest of the weekend.

Since then I have been enjoying this on the rocks or in cocktails. Now that the bottle is almost two-thirds empty its time to pour a tipple in my Glencairn glass and see how, or better yet, if, this one has evolved.


FIGHTING COCK BOURBON

Distiller: Heaven Hill

Age: 6 Years Old

ABV: 51.5%

Mashbill: 75/13/12 (Corn/Rye/Barley)

Price: $19

EYE

Toasted Caramel.

NOSE

Ethanol. Followed quickly by spice and a slight hint of dark fruits (blackberries). Some oak. This one has not opened up much over the past few months. It is an intense and not really pleasent nose. I don’t usually do this but I added a little water and it tamed down the ethanol slightly and brought forward the spice and caramel.

TASTE

Spice and oak. Followed by some sweet caramel and vanilla notes. Semi-dry towards the end. Not a bad thing. Just not overly dynamic. Water brought out the caramel, vanilla, and some nuttiness I did not get before.

FINISH

Long. Spice, oak, caramel, and vanilla. Slowly fades away. The finish is the best part. However, the water shortens it a bit.

VALUE

The value is okay. The price is pretty nice. It is a high-octane bourbon for under $20. Thumbs-up. It is not as dynamic or versatile as the likes of Wild Turkey 101. Thumbs-down. So, in the end, the value category is kind-of a wash with this one.

CONSENSUS

This is a good bourbon. It is not a great bourbon. The nose is nothing great. The palate is okay. The finish is my favorite part. I wouldn’t drink this one straight even the the water makes it quite nice. For the same price I can get the WT 101 which is more dynamic, has more depth, and is much tastier. But, this is a solid mixer with a good flavor. So, in the end, this falls into the good tipple range.

RATING

83/100 (A Solid Tipple)

 

 

Leave a Reply

