Evansville Bourbon Society

FB_IMG_1436895699254

I sat down in my seat, placed my soda in the cup holder, and rested the bag of salty, buttery, popcorn on my lap. Turning my phone silent, I looked up to see the lights dim and the trailers begin to play on the screen in front of me.

I love going to the theater. However, usually I will only pay the premium price for big action blockbusters. Yet, today my wife and I acquiesced to our friends’ desires to go see Toy Story 3. As the opening credits rolled I was not anticipating too much excitement. But, in the end, the opening scene stuck with me and that is where I begin today.

In the opening scene, Andy has a coming-of-age moment. He is heading off to college and has to decide what he is going to do with his childhood toys. Take them? If so, which ones? Or, does he leave them all behind? It is quite an emotional scene which, as I look back, resonates with a recent experience of mine.

It is hard to move away from home. Home for me was Indianapolis, Indiana. I had lived there for seven years. My roots were deep, friendships were strong, and memories were vast. And, yet, I moved.

I had heard the sirens call. I didn’t find much pleasure in the place to which it called me. But, I had been made an offer which I could not refuse. I was going from the Assistant Director of a department at a semi-large non-profit to the Executive Director of a small non-profit. The catch: moving from Indianapolis, Indiana to Evansville, Indiana. Big town to small town. I love big towns. It was a tough decision.

My wife and I have now lived in Evansville for a year. In most respects it hasn’t been bad. But, it is hard to establish new roots. We have good jobs. Root secure. We are slowly developing friendships. Root finding its footing. But, as a lover of all things whiskey I have come up empty. Root insecure.

That is until a few weeks ago. A good friend and member of the Evansville Area Craft Beer Club (you can find a review of their latest event here) told me about a group called the Evansville Bourbon Society. Root finding soil.

So, I contacted their president, Michael Erwin, and joined the club for the September meeting: an outside of the bourbon barrel tasting. World Whiskies. Root digging into soil.

I walked into the meeting, paid my ten dollars, and introduced myself to Michael. He welcomed me and then introduced me to Scott, one of the members. I started chatting with him as we took a seat at one of the tables.

Other members floated in as Michael began the tasting with a welcoming speech. Then we dove right in. I didn’t have a Glencairn glass (or anything close to it as you can see) so I am going to refrain from giving a full write-up on each tipple. In fact, it was hard to distinguish all the notes. However, there was a clear winner out of the bunch. Here was the order in which I rated them.

20150709_190705

#1: Laphroaig 10 Year Old (8.9 out of 10) – Peat Bomb!

#2: Nikka Taketsuru 12 Year Old (7 out of 10) – Malty, Sweet Goodness!

#3: Macallan 10 Year Old (6.7 out of 10) – Light and Fruity!

#4: Johnnie Walker Black (6.5 out of 10) – Lots of Muted Flavors!

#5: Jameson Irish Whisky (6 out of 10) – Boring!

Half way through the tasting we paused for some announcements. I found out about the 3B’s event the coming Saturday: Bourbon, Blues, and Barbeque. Yeah, that happened. A review will be coming shortly.

I also found out more about membership. Yeah, I joined. Perks? A lot. I will have a private single barrel bottle of 1792 coming soon! I also have two bottles of Four Roses Barrel-Aged Imperial White IPA. Plenty of more reviews coming soon. If you are interested in joining the group send me a message on my contact page and I will get you set-up.

I would have to say that finding this group has been like hitting the whisk(e)y jackpot. I cannot wait to see what is in store.

Root secure in soil.

Stay tuned and tipple on my friends.

2 thoughts on “Evansville Bourbon Society

  1. Pingback: Bourbon is Science | Tipple & Text

  2. Pingback: Bourbon Heaven | Tipple & Text

Leave a Reply

