Knob Creek Smoked Maple Bourbon – Review

20150418_190033

Knob Creek is a line of whiskies from Jim Beam. Jim Beam is a historic producer of whiskies. They remain one of the biggest sellers of whiskey in the world. There single barrel reserve is nothing short of fantastic. But, here we have a flavored whiskey.

The realm of flavored whiskeys has grown a lot over the past few years. While there is obviously a segment of the public which enjoys these types of whiskeys, I am not a part of that group. Still, I have rarely come across a whiskey in which I couldn’t find at least some redeeming characteristics.

But, every once in a while you run across a product that is just not, to put it lightly, worth it. Usually this happens to me when I am on vacation and decided, foolishly, to step into a tourist-trap shop. Hideous t-shirts, endless shot glasses, and only God knows how many stuffed animals. Mistake.

Well, this was that kind of mistake. I was at our local Irish Pub with my wife one evening and decided to get a cocktail that was made with Knob Creek Smoked Maple Bourbon. It was delicious. So, naturally I had recreate it at home. We went to the store on the way home and grabbed a bottle for $30. And, this is where it went south, well, almost.

The cocktail recreation worked great. The problem. $30 is a little steep for a one-dimensional bourbon which is only good in a cocktail. This is the tale of this tipple. I made the mistake of trying this one straight and just so you can experience it along with me I suffered one more time and did a tasting. Here are the results:


KNOB CREEK SMOKED MAPLE BOURBON

Distiller: Jim Beam

Age: NAS

ABV: 45%

Bottling: L4293CLH 010622133

Price: $30

EYE

Light carmel with and orange tint

NOSE

Real maple. Not much smoke. Not too overpowering. Some small hints of oak in the background. Not as bad as I expected.

TASTE

Really sweet. Lots of maple. And, fake maple here. The nose is deceptive leading one to believe the taste will follow suit. You can kind of tell it is bourbon but all I get is maple syrup with a slight alcohol burn. This is an unpleasant drink.

FINISH

Medium-short. Sugary and maple.

CONSENSUS

Buying a whole bottle was a mistake. I should have stuck with getting the cocktail next time I was at the pub. If you can find this in a cocktail it might be worth a try. If you like torture then you could always buy a glass at a bar but I wouldn’t pay more than a few bucks for a try.

RATING

65/100 (Pass On This Tipple)

BONUS

Just in case you like this stuff or accidentally bought a bottle and want to know what to do with it, here is the recipe for the cocktail I referenced above:

Only Use For KCSM Cocktail

1) Fill rocks glass half/full with ice

2) Fill rocks glass with 2oz smoked maple bourbon and 1oz fresh lemon juice

3) Top with apple cider and mix

4) Sprinkle a dash of cayenne pepper on top

5) Enjoy…hopefully!

 

Leave a Reply

